Home Page

Governing Body

Welcome to Chalfont St Giles Village School Governing Body


Our purpose:


We are all volunteers who come from the parent body, staff and village community.  Our responsibility is to be “critical friends” to the school, by working with the Head Teacher and Senior Leadership team to:


  • Ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  • Hold the Head Teacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff
  • Oversee the financial performance of the school and make sure its money is well spent 
  • Support the school in recruitment of senior staff and appoint the Head Teacher


Our structure:


In order to carry out these roles we are divided into a number of committees who each have a responsibility to look at different aspects of school life.  A number of us also take on a curriculum role and meet with subject leaders to discuss how these subjects are being taught and to monitor pupil progress. 


Chair of Governors:  Donna Westall

Vice-Chair of Governors:  Melvyn Bleakley


Curriculum & Standards Committee

Melvyn Bleakley (Chair)

Patricia English

Sue Salmon

Elaine Hoare

Gill Brown

Dave Cronen

Flic Warner


Finance Committee

Nigel Hobbs (Chair)

Ann Alderson

Patricia English

Katherine Mannion

Eleanor O'Connor

Elen Peal

Donna Westall


Personnel Committee

Eleanor O’Connor (Chair)

Melvyn Bleakley

Nicola Brown

Nigel Hobbs

Elen Peal

Donna Westall


Communications Committee

Bob Albery (Chair)

Sonya Agar

Katherine Mannion

Becky Murray

Lisa Higgin

Rose Smith

Donna Westall


Infrastructure Committee

Ann Alderson (Chair)

Patricia English

Katherine Mannion

Eleanor O’Connor

Jeremy Ryman

Bob Albery


Our members:


Our Governing Body contains up to 18 full members.  These include two parent governors elected by parents, one governor appointed by the Local Authority, one member of staff elected by the staff across both sites and the Head Teacher.  All other members are appointed by the Governing Body according to their skills, knowledge and enthusiasm for the role.  We come from lots of different backgrounds but we have in common a passion for education and a shared drive to help make this school the best it can be for all its pupils. 


The term of office for all governors is four years, except for the Head and Deputies who are governors by virtue of their position in the school.  The four year terms of existing appointed governors restarted upon reconstitution on 16/7/15.  The Governing Body may choose to renew or extend the term of non-elected governors.  The Chair and Vice-Chair are elected by the Governing Body on an annual basis.


The Governing Body also appoints associate governors from time to time who offer specific skills and perspectives but who do not vote at meetings.


The table below shows the appointment and leaving dates of all current members and those who have been members in the past 12 months, in line with government regulations.



Name Date Appointed (to Federation Governing Body) Date Resigned (if applicable) Term Expiry Appointed By Relevant Business, Governance or Pecuniary Interests
Sonya Agar 23/06/2016   23/06/2024 Governors None
Bob Albery 17/10/2014   24/09/2022 Governors None
Ann Alderson 06/10/2011   16/07/2023 Governors None
Melvyn Bleakley 06/10/2011   16/07/2023 Governors None
Nicola Brown 25/09/2018   24/09/2022 Parents Staff governor RNIB school Northwood
Gill Brown (associate) 06/10/2011   01/12/2024 Governors None
Dave Cronen 08/07/2019   07/07/2023 Parents None
Patricia English 06/10/2011   N/A Governors None
Lisa Higgin 09/03/2020   08/03/2024 Governors None
Elaine Hoare 01/09/2017   01/09/2021 Governors None
Nigel Hobbs 01/09/2016   01/09/2024 Governors None
Katherine Mannion 16/07/2015   N/A Governors None
Rebecca Murray 29/10/2018   28/10/2022 Staff  
Eleanor O’Connor 06/10/2011   16/07/2023 LEA None
Elen Peal 06/10/2011   N/A Governors None
Jeremy Ryman (associate) 06/10/2011   16/07/2023 Governors Governor of Chenies School
Sue Salmon 19/01/2017   19/01/2025 Governors None
Flic Warner (associate) 19/11/2020   11/11/2024 Governors None
Victoria Neil (nee Spencer) 18/09/2015 03/04/2020 18/09/2023 Governors None
Rose Smith 28/09/2017   27/09/2022 Governors None
Donna Westall 06/10/2011   16/07/2023 Governors None